OR   Search for Artist/Title    Advanced Search
you are not logged in...  [login] 
All Reviews    Edit This Review     
'The Long Unbroken Line'   

-  Label: 'Drumfire Records'
-  Genre: 'Alt/Country' -  Release Date: '11th November 2016'-  Catalogue No: 'DRMFR022'

Our Rating:
This album contains eleven Alt.Country songs from a Liverpool-based husband and wife duo R. Peter Davies and Gabrielle Monk.

Their fourth release features ten original tunes all written by Davies with the only cover being The Leaving Of Liverpool, the classic tale of a sailor adrift.

Monk plays accordion, autoharp and percussion but leaves the bulk of the singing to hubby, chipping in only on backing vocals here and there. Her only song writing credit is as co-composer of Sad Country Songs.

The couple, plus guest musicians, deliver mournful songs about loneliness, aging, death and the world as seen from the bottom of a glass.

Pedal steel and fiddle add to the all pervasive mood of weariness and wistfulness. The droll delivery of the 'yippee-aye-eh, yippee aye oh' chorus on Rest Home Cowboy exemplifies the reflective, downbeat nature of these songs of ghost riders, heartaches and life's all too fleeting pleasures.

Graceful but glum.

The Good Intentions' website
  author: Martin Raybould

[Show all reviews for this Artist]

READERS COMMENTS    10 comments still available (max 10)    [Click here to add your own comments]

There are currently no comments...

GOOD INTENTIONS, THE - The Long Unbroken Line
GOOD INTENTIONS, THE - The Long Unbroken Line